Something Borrowed: The Trailer

A few years ago, I fell in love with Emily Giffin, who I have come to consider the Queen of Chick Lit. Her books are mostly about 20-somethings in New York finding themselves, which sounds typical, but her writing is witty, smart, and relatable, which is what I think sets her apart. My love affair with her and her books began with Something Borrowed, her first novel, about a New York attorney who falls in love with her best friend’s fiance (I know, I know, it sounds like “been there, read that” but trust me, once you start you’ll be hooked!) So when I first heard that they were making Something Borrowed into a movie with Kate Hudson (who I have a major girl crush on) and Ginnifer Goodwin (who seemed in my mind like the perfect fit to play Rachel, the main character) I was ecstatic. And then I saw yesterday that the trailer is HERE!

 

 

Unfortunately, however, I can already tell from the trailer that, as with 99% of books-turned-movies, this film won’t hold a candle to the book. The trailer leaves much to be desired—in fact, if I hadn’t read the book, I would probably think this was just another lame-o romantic comedy. And I was surprised that I hadn’t realized it before, but Kate Hudson in this role is surprisingly similar to her character in Bride Wars. Hmmm…makes me wonder how this didn’t cross anybody’s mind while casting.

Regardless, I’ll keep the faith that there will be many great aspects of the movie that were left out of the trailer. And if it is a flop, I’ll still love the book and …if I’m being completely honest, I must confess that I’m a sucker for a romantic comedy, no matter how cheesy. (How cheesy can I deal with, you ask? I laughed and cried during Leap Year. Yea, I said it.)

So no matter what May 6th, I’ll be ready to buy some popcorn and a ticket!

2 thoughts on “Something Borrowed: The Trailer

  1. Pingback: Floor 36 Review: Something Borrowed Was Something Good! « The View From the 36th Floor

Leave a Reply

