He Shoots, He Scores!

photo courtesy of Getty Images

Remember back in July when I posted the hopeful projection from Chris Paul that the Knicks would have their own “Big 3” to rival the Miami Heat when him and Carmelo Anthony eventually joined Amar’e Stoudemire and the New York Knicks? Well, 1/2 of that projection has come true. Last night I jumped up and down with glee when ESPN announced that Carmelo Anthony has officially been traded to New York.

There was an outcry on Twitter calling those who were all of a sudden excited about the Knicks “fairweather fans.” For me, this isn’t the case. I have no problem saying that I’ve never been one of those diehard Knicks fans. Basketball is one of my favorite sports to watch, but I’ve never had only one favorite team. Baltimore doesn’t have a hometown team, and seeing as I’m not from New York and the Knicks have—to put it delicately—sucked in past years, I’ve had no reason to claim them.

But Carmelo Anthony has been one of my favorite players since his glory days in Baltimore and then at Syracuse (and yes, I’ll admit that I had a crush on him and a poster of him and his Nuggets jersey were both hanging in my college apartment, but I also love his style of play, ok!?) So the combination of my favorite player coming to the Knicks, plus the fact that I’m now a New Yorker, has me excited for this season and this team. Not to mention the fact that Amar’e Stoudemire is pretty darn hard to defend. And oh yea, I can’t help but love the fact that he is besties with Anna Wintour. What could make for a more interesting team? Well, the possible addition of Chris Paul in 2012, of course. But only time will tell if that will actually happen, but it’s undeniable that the Carmelo trade will do wonders for the city of New York and the Knicks franchise.

In the meantime, I’m googling some tickets for nosebleed seats for Madison Square Garden this season.

One thought on “He Shoots, He Scores!

Leave a Reply

