Just Keep Swimming

photo couresy of thatgrapejuice.net

My lack of posting lately is a reflection of the fact that not much is going on in NYC besides snow, rain, and sleet. Which results in me hibernating, therefore not too many interesting NYC stories.

Between the dreary weather and the fact that I’ve been working later and later and had a lot on my plate work-wise, it’s definitely been quite a winter. But aside from reciting one of me and my friends’ favorite mantras “Just keep swimming!” (taken from one of the best movies of all time, Finding Nemo) I’ve surprised myself by finding solace and motivation from an unlikely place: Nicki Minaj.

I know, I know. At first, I was anti-Nicki. The crazy outfits and hair, the vulgar lyrics, the mixed messages…I thought I’d never be a fan. But then I watched “My Time Now,” the documentary MTV did on her rise from living poor in Queens, NY with a dysfunctional family to mega-stardom, and I found her surprisingly likeable—I’m a sucker for a good success story, especially when that person isn’t afraid to be themselves. And then I heard her album Pink Friday. And while her singing voice sounds whiny and annoying in a few songs (i.e. her single Right Through Me) I have had her songs I’m the Best, Fly, and Moment for Life on repeat non-stop. They help me get my blood flowing and keep in mind why I’m working so hard.

Do you have any favorite songs or albums that help keep you motivated when you need an extra boost?

One thought on “Just Keep Swimming

  1. I have to agree, Nicki Minaj’s I’m The Best, Fly, and Moment for Life make me want to achieve something, anything. And just keep swimming.

    I didn’t like her either, but her doc def changed my mind about her, that and her lipstick LOL

Leave a Reply

