NY’s Own Big 3?

Image courtesy of wpix.com

Of all sports, I’m a football fan first, then a basketball fan. Next would be volleyball since I’m a former player (high school), and other than that, I don’t really watch too much. Watching anything baseball-related brings back tortured memories of being subjected as a child to the blazing sun for an entire day while watching my brother play the slowest game in existence.

So, you can imagine living in New York has its ups and downs sports-wise. I am a diehard Ravens fan, so while I’ll root for them from time to time, I’ll never be a true Giants fan. I don’t like baseball, so while an occasional Yankees games can be fun, it’s not really my thing. That just leaves the Knicks, and well…enough said.

So when it came time for Lebron James to make “The Decision,” the biggest hoopla that’s happened in the world of sports in a long time, I couldn’t help but cross my fingers with the rest of New York that he would come to the Knicks. Yes, they signed Amar’e Stoudemire, which is a major improvement, but not enough for me to go out and buy a blue and orange jersey. So when James announced he would be headed to South Beach, I, like other New Yorkers, plus Chicagoans and of course Clevalanders (and to even begin to address their reaction would call for an entirely separate post) was dissapointed.

But we found out this week that New Yorkers and Knicks fans might have a silver lining in this dismal basketball cloud. Allegedly, Hornets point guard Chris Paul said “We’ll form our own Big 3,” referring to himself and Anthony joining Stoudemire in 2012 during a toast at Nuggets forward Carmelo Anthony and VJ Lala Vasquez’s wedding.

This, along with rumors that the Knicks are eyeing Tony Parker as a free agent, is enough to give me and many other New Yorkers a pep in our bball step. Even if it means waiting another 2 years, wouldn’t it be amazing to actually be excited to go to Madison Square Garden–and not for a concert, but for a Knicks game??

2 thoughts on “NY’s Own Big 3?

  1. Pingback: He Shoots, He Scores! « The View From the 36th Floor

Leave a Reply

